Toronto's Rapid Transit Lines - Line 1 (Yonge-University-Spadina Subway Line)

Nov. 14, 2018

After four years of construction, the Yonge subway — billed as Canada’s first — opens to the public. Trains shuttled through 12 stations parallel to Yonge St., between Union Station and Eglinton Ave. Passengers disembarking at these new stations could transfer from subways to streetcars or buses and back. The new subway was hailed by the TTC as a development that “puts Toronto in line with other world capitals.” -

Photo - City of Toronto Archives/

Oct. 14, 2018

By Nick Westoll - Digital Broadcast Journalist
Global News - September 5, 2017 8:12 pm

Jun. 12, 2017

Toronto Transit Commission - Published on May 31, 2017

TTC TYSSE 2017 Doors Open